1. Home
  2. Pre-Sales Questions
  3. Can I Collaborate on a Plottr File with a Co-Author or Editor?

Can I Collaborate on a Plottr File with a Co-Author or Editor?

Yes! You can share your file with anyone who has Plottr by hosting it on a cloud-based file sharing service like Dropbox, Google Drive, or iCloud.

  • All collaborators need Plottr installed on their computers, as well as an account with the cloud-sharing service being used (e.g. Dropbox, Google Drive, iCloud, OneDrive).
  • Any edits you make in the shared Plottr file will display to your collaborators when they open the file.
  • We do NOT currently recommend working on the file with a collaborator at the same time to prevent overwriting each other’s changes.

How to Collaborate using Dropbox

To collaborate with other Plottr users using Dropbox, you will each need a Dropbox account and Plottr installed on your computer:

  • Login to your Dropbox account here or sign up for free
  • Create a folder in Dropbox for the Plottr file(s) you wish to share
  • Upload the Plottr file(s) you wish to share to this folder
  • Click on the folder you wish to share and then click the “Share” button
  • Next, enter the emails of your collaborator(s) to invite them to access the folder OR click “Create then copy link” and provide the sharing link with your collaborator(s) individually
    • Your collaborator(s) will receive an email with a link to login to their own Dropbox account – once they consent to adding the folder to their account, they will be able to access the shared folder
    • If your collaborator(s) don’t see the shared folder after logging in, ask them to click the “Shared” tab within the Dropbox interface to find it
  • Now, if you upload a new version of this file to your shared Dropbox folder, any changes you make to the file will also be available to your collaborators
  • When your collaborator(s) login to Dropbox, they can then click on and download the file to their computer, open it using Plottr, make changes, and then upload their edited version to the same shared folder

How to Collaborate using Google Drive

To collaborate with other Plottr users using Google Drive, you will each need a Google account and Plottr installed on your computer:

  • Login to your Google Drive account here or sign up for free
  • Create a folder in Google Drive for the Plottr file(s) you wish to share
  • Upload the Plottr file(s) you wish to share to this folder
  • Right click on the folder you wish to share and then click the “Share” button
  • Next, enter the emails of your collaborator(s) to invite them to access the folder
    • Your collaborator(s) will receive an email with a link to login to their own Google Drive account to access the folder
    • If your collaborator(s) don’t see the shared folder after logging in, ask them to click the “Shared with Me” tab within the Google Drive interface to find it
  • Now, if you upload a new version of this file to your shared Google Drive folder, any changes you make to the file will also be available to your collaborators
  • When your collaborator(s) login to Google Drive, they can then click on and download the file to their computer, open it using Plottr, make changes, and then upload their edited version to the same shared folder

How to Collaborate using iCloud

  • Login to your Apple iCloud account here or sign up for free
  • Click iCloud Drive
  • Create a new folder in iCloud Drive for the Plottr file(s) you wish to share
  • Upload the Plottr file(s) you wish to share to this folder
  • Click on the folder you wish to share and then click the “Share” button at the top of the screen
  • Next, enter the emails of your collaborator(s) to invite them to access the folder
    • Your collaborator(s) will receive an email with a link to login to their own iCloud account to access the folder
    • Once they click into iCloud Drive, they will be able to see and access the shared folder
  • Now, if you upload a new version of this file to your shared iCloud Drive folder, any changes you make to the file will also be available to your collaborators
  • When your collaborator(s) login to iCloud Drive, they can then click on and download the file to their computer, open it using Plottr, make changes, and then upload their edited version to the same shared folder
Updated on August 25, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support